Olympia School District Board elects new officials for the 2023 term


Former Vice President Darcy Huffman was appointed as the new Olympia School District (OSD) board president for 2023.

The election was done during OSD’s annual reorganization during its Special Recognition and Regular Board Meeting on Thursday, December 8.

Huffman will fill the presidential position that Director Maria Flores currently holds. Flores was elected in 2019, and her term expires in 2023.

Former Director Hilary Seidel was appointed as the new vice president, and she will succeed former Vice President Huffman.

The board also selected directors who will be liaisons for different offices:

  • The Olympia School District Education Foundation (OSDEF): Director Talauna Reed
  • Thurston Regional Planning Council (TRPC): Vice President Hilary Seidel
  • Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA): Director Scott Clifthorne
  • Legislative Representative to the Washington State School Directors' Association (WSSDA): Director Maria Flores

The elected board officials will serve one full year, starting December 2022 to December 2023.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here