Olympia appoints 24 volunteers, honors departing committee members


The Olympia City Council approved appointments to fill vacancies on 11 advisory boards and committees on Tuesday, April 9.

Sixty-four community members applied for the 31 open positions. The existing members of each advisory body initially screened the applications. Candidates were then recommended for interviews with the Community Livability and Public Safety Committee (CLPS), which interviewed 43 applicants and chairs or vice-chairs of the respective committees.

At the City Council meeting, Mayor Pro Tem Yen Huynh, who chairs the CLPS, recommended 24 candidates for appointment and 17 currently serving members for reappointment. She said the newly appointed and reappointed members will provide community input to help develop recommendations for the city council to consider.

The following are the new committee members:

Arts Commission:

  • Andrew Repcik
  • Christen Greene
  • Jay Spivak

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC):

  • Matt Schirehotz
  • Garin Schrieve
  • Steve Albrecht
  • Travis Millar

Cultural Access Advisory Board:

  • Wayne Kleppe

Design Review Board

  • Michael Miltimore
  • James Thomas

Heritage Commission

  • Eleanor Knight
  • Stephen Becker
  • William Cotter
  • Melissa Patrick

Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee (PRAC)

  • Candice Bock
  • Meg Jones
  • Thresa Woodard

Planning Commission

  • Raphael Garcia
  • Daniel Garcia
  • John Paget

Social Justice and Equity Commission

  • Karin Arnold
  • Amna Quazi (appointment to be approved by the city council on April 16)

Utility Advisory Committee

  • Melissa Kover
  • Kathryn Walton-Eliot

Use of Force Events Board

  • Elizabeth Drake

Special recognition

In the same meeting, Mayor Dontae Payne honored the 22 committee members for completing their terms of service on various advisory boards, committees, and commissions.

"Our advisory bodies are highly engaged in the community, and some of our most impactful work happens through them," said Mayor Payne. He thanked each outgoing member for their commitment and perspectives.

Three members received special recognition for over a decade of service – Carole Richmond, serving 11 years on the Planning Commission; Holly Davis, 15 years on the Heritage Commission; and Joseph LaValle, 13 years on the Design Review Board.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here