Tumwater welcomes Debbie Sullivan as its first female mayor


As the new year rolls in, the city of Tumwater welcomed its first female mayor, Debbie Sullivan, and other newly elected councilmembers in a ceremonial swearing-in ceremony on Tue., Jan. 4.

For its first hybrid meeting, the city recognized its newly elected city officials in a swearing-in ceremony led by Chief Justice of the Washington Supreme Court Steven C. González. The mayor and city council members had previously been sworn-in during an online ceremony on Dec. 29. Mayor Sullivan as well as councilmembers Angela Jefferson, Eileen Swarthout, Michael Althauser, and Peter Agabi took their oath of office.

Sullivan takes over the city’s leadership following the retirement of its long-time Mayor, Pete Kmet, who retired last week after 30 years of service to Tumwater.

During the meeting, City Manager John Doan explained how participation will work at future hybrid meetings. Residents may choose to participate in person at the Tumwater City Hall, 555 Israel Road SW, or online via Zoom.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here